About The NDSA

The Network

The NDSA is a national network of academic, industry, and government partnerships that will grow the capacity of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) to transform data science discoveries into tangible societal benefits. Systematic change at scale will be catalyzed by engaging HBCU faculty and staff in data science training, curriculum development, and research.


The NDSA builds on the collaborative data science work of the Atlanta University Center (AUC) Data Science Initiative  which was established by the Presidents of Clark Atlanta University, Morehouse College, Morehouse School of Medicine, and Spelman College. 


The NDSA is organized into regional hubs: Northeast Hub at Howard University, Southcentral Hub at Fisk University, and Southeast Hub at Clark Atlanta University, with the backbone at the AUC Consortium. 



Vision

The National Data Science Alliance (NDSA)

will increase the number of Blacks earning data science credentials (e.g., major, minor, certificate, or postbaccalaureate) by at least 20,000 and create equitable data science research, techniques, and models.

Mission

Expand data science research and education

at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and develop a national network of HBCUs with industry, government, and academic collaboration to transform data science discoveries into tangible societal benefits that advance equity for all.


Where We Serve 

Central Hub

Operating from Clark Atlanta University and coordinates with the Backbone team to orchestrate activities and partnerships with the regional hubs.


Northeastern Region

Serving HBCUs in Washington DC, Maryland, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Virginia, and the Virgin Islands.


Southeastern Region

Serving HBCUs in Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Mississippi, and South Carolina.

Southcentral Region

Serving HBCUs in Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Texas.

OUR SUPPORT

The NDSA is an Alliance of the National Science Foundation’s Eddie Bernice Johnson INCLUDES program that was funded $10 million to increase the number of Black people earning data science credentials by at least 20,000 by 2027 and expand data science research that advocates for social justice and strive to eliminate bias. This national organization will facilitate engagement at scale across HBCUs with industry and academic collaboration to broaden participation and advance social justice in data science. 

 OUR TEAM

Central Hub at Clark Atlanta University

Dr. Talitha Washington

Director, Clark Atlanta University PI

 twashington@ndsalliance.org

LinkedIn

Dr. Latoya Morris

Assistant Director of Programs 

lmorris@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Dr. Moses Garuba

Industry & University Collaboration Lead, Co-PI

mgaruba@ndsalliance.org 


Dr. H. Justin Ballenger

Equity-Centered Community Engagement Lead

jballenger@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Ivory Burden 

Financial Coordinator

LinkedIn

Kavita Mittapalli

External Evaluator

LinkedIn

Dr. Charlene Gilbert 

 Chair of Provosts Council

LinkedIn

NDSA Backbone at AUC Consortium

Dr. Michael Hodge 

Lead of the Backbone, AUCC PI

mhodge@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Dr. Michael Hines 

Project Manager 

mhines@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Lynette Fletcher 

Communications Manager

lfletcher@ndsalliance.org

LinkedIn

Camryn Triplett

Administrative Coordinator

ctriplett@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Northeastern Hub  at Howard University

Dr. LaTanya Brown-Robertson

Lead of Northeastern Regional Hub, Howard University PI/Co-PI

lbrown-robertson@ndsalliance.org


LinkedIn

Teri Brown 

Program Coordinator

tbrown@ndsalliance.org 

Southeastern Hub at Clark Atlanta University

Dr. Eric Mintz

Lead of Southeastern Regional Hub, Clark Atlanta University Co-PI

emintz@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Jacqueline Williams 

Program Coordinator

jwilliams@ndsalliance.org 

Southcentral Hub at Fisk University

Dr. Sajid Hussain

Lead of Southcentral Regional Hub, Fisk University PI/Co-PI

shussain@ndsalliance.org 

LinkedIn

Internal  Evaluation Team 

Manoah Farmer 

Data Manager 

LinkedIn

Professor Elycia Daniel

Internal Evaluator 

LinkedIn